Trending topics

Melbourne AFLX tournament squads announced


The squads for the second night of AFLX this weekend have been named, with a host of highly-rated draftees set to make their first appearance for their new clubs on Friday night at Etihad Stadium.

Five of the top 10 picks in last year’s NAB AFL National Draft will feature on the night: Carlton duo Paddy Dow and Lochie O’Brien, North Melbourne’s Luke Davies-Uniacke and St Kilda pairing Hunter Clark and Nick Coffield.

Former GWS Giant Matthew Kennedy will almost make his first appearance for the Blues after his move during last year's NAB AFL Trade Period.

The Saints have named a strong team, with Seb Ross headlining a host of first-team midfielders to be named in the squad and Tim Membrey likely to play vital role as a tall key forward.

North Melbourne have also opted with some experience, with Shaun Higgins, Jamie Macmillan, Ben Cunnington and Jarrad Waite all set to play for the Roos.

David Zaharakis will captain the Bombers, with new recruit Adam Saad and 2017 Rising Star winner Andrew McGrath the other notable names to don the red and black on Friday night.

Hawthorn and Melbourne have named largely inexperienced sides, with Liam Shiels and Christian Petracca to lead the way for the Hawks and Dees respectively.

Carlton (16-man squad)

-1. Jack Silvagni, 2. Paddy Dow, 4. Lochie O’Brien, 7. Matthew Kennedy, 11. Sam Kerridge, 13. Jed Lamb, 22. Caleb Marchbank, 24. Cameron O’Shea, 25. Zac Fisher, 26. Harrison Macreadie, 27. Matthew Lobbe, 28. David Cuningham, 29. Cameron Polson, 31. Tom Williamson, 33. Jarrod Pickett, 42. Kym LeBois

Essendon (17-man squad)

-1. Andrew McGrath, 3. Darcy Parish, 4. Kyle Langford, 8. Marty Gleeson, 11. David Zaharakis (c), 15. Josh Green, 16. Josh Begley, 20. Jackson Merrett, 27. Mason Redman, 29. Patrick Ambrose, 35. Matt Guelfi, 41. Ben McNiece, 42. Adam Saad, 43. Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti, 44. Shaun McKernan, 45. Conor McKenna, 49. Matt Dea

Hawthorn (19-man squad)

-5. Ryan Burton, 6. James Sicily, 15. Blake Hardwick, 17. Dan Howe, 19. Jack Gunston, 20. Dallas Willsmore, 21. Kieran Lovell, 22. Luke Breust, 23. Tim O’Brien, 25. Ryan Schoenmakers, 26. Liam Shiels (c), 32. David Mirra, 35. Harry Morrison, 37. Jackson Ross, 38. James Worpel, 41. Oliver Hanrahan, 42. Teia Miles, 45. Conor Nash, 46. James Cousins

Melbourne (15-man squad)

-4. James Harmes, 5. Christian Petracca, 9. Charlie Spargo, 10. Angus Brayshaw, 15. Billy Stretch, 18. Jake Melksham, 20. Corey Maynard, 25. Tom McDonald, 30. Alex Neal-Bullen, 31. Bayley Fritsch, 32. Tomas Bugg, 33. Oskar Baker, 37. Dion Johnstone, 39. Neville Jetta, 42. Josh Wagner

North Melbourne (15-man squad)

-1. Majak Daw, 4. Shaun Higgins (c), 9. Luke Davies-Uniacke, 10. Ben Cunnington, 11. Luke McDonald, 12. Jy Simpkin, 15. Paul Ahern, 18. Shaun Atley, 24. Sam Durdin, 30. Jarrad Waite, 31. Braydon Preuss, 34. Jamie Macmillan (c), 39. Billy Hartung, 41. Gordon Narrier, 44. Cameron Zurhaar

St Kilda (20-man squad)

-5. Shane Savage, 6. Seb Ross, 7. Luke Dunstan, 8. Blake Acres, 9. Jack Steele, 11. Hunter Clark, 13. Jack Lonie, 19. Sam Gilbert, 21. Ben Long, 25. Koby Stevens, 26. Josh Battle, 28. Tim Membrey, 29. Jimmy Webster, 30. Ed Phillips, 33. Nick Coffield, 35. Jack Sinclair, 37. Bailey Rice, 40. Ray Connellan, 43. Rowan Marshall, 44. Maverick Weller

AFLX Carlton Essendon Hawthorn North Melbourne Melbourne St Kilda

More in AFL