Trending topics

Final AFLX squads named


The squads for the final night of this weekend’s AFLX action on Saturday have been announced.

Two of the most recent AFL premiership sides, Richmond and the Western Bulldogs, will do battle with the Sydney Swans, GWS Giants, Brisbane Lions and Gold Coast Suns at Sydney’s Allianz Stadium.

The reigning premiers have named a young side featuring three players that took the field in last year’s Grand Final: Jason Castagna, Daniel Butler and Nathan Broad.

The Tigers will also roll out five draftees headlined by Jack Higgins, the club’s first pick in last year’s NAB AFL National Draft.

The Bulldogs have also opted for youth, with key forward Jack Redpath to captain a side with a total of 65 games’ AFL experience.

The two home sides boast the strongest squads, with the Giants headed by midfielders Lachie Whitfield and Tom Scully.

Sydney have also named a host of first-team players in the 20-man squad, with defender Dane Rampe and forward Sam Reid to lead way for the Swans at both ends of the ground.

Gold Coast’s Sam Day will make his first appearance in over 12 months following a hip injury that kept him out of the entirety of 2017, while Brisbane have opted for a mix of experience and youth in their 14-man squad.

Brisbane (14-man squad)

-1. Ben Keays, 3. Allen Christensen, 5. Mitch Robinson, 7. Tom Bell, 8. Rohan Bewick, 10. Daniel Rich, 19. Jacob Allison, 20. Cedric Cox, 26. Tom Cutler, 33. Zac Bailey, 36. Rhys Mathieson, 39. Corey Lyons, 42. Mitchell Hinge, 43. Jake Barrett

Gold Coast (14-man squad)

-6. Alex Sexton, 8. Brayden Fiorini, 10. Kade Kolodjashnij, 11. Touk Miller (c), 12. Sam Day, 15. Aaron Young, 18. Brad Scheer, 23. Sean Lemmens, 29. Jack Bowes, 36. Josh Schoenfeld, 38. Jesse Joyce, 39. Nick Holman, 43. Max Spencer, 44. Darcy Macpherson

Greater Western Sydney (16-man squad)

-6. Lachie Whitfield, 9. Tom Scully, 10. Aiden Bonar, 11. Will Setterfield, 13. Isaac Cumming, 31. Jeremy Finlayson, 20. Adam Tomlinson, 25. Lachlan Keeffe, 33. Lachie Tiziani, 34. Nick Shipley, 36. Harry Perryman, 38. Daniel Lloyd, 41. Jack Buckley, 42. Jake Stein, 43. Dylan Buckley, 50. Sam Reid

Richmond (15-man squad)

-7. Daniel Butler, 11. Jason Castagna, 15. Jayden Short, 27. Sam Lloyd, 28. Jack Higgins, 30. Reece Conca, 32. Corey Ellis, 35. Nathan Broad, 26. Callum Moore, 38. Noah Balta, 41. Mabior Chol, 43. Derek Eggmolesse-Smith, 44. Tyson Stengle, 46. Ben Miller, 48. Liam Baker

Sydney (20-man squad)

-1. James Rose, 6. Jordan Foote, 7. Harry Cunningham, 13. Oliver Florent, 20. Sam Reid, 22. Dean Towers, 24. Dane Rampe, 25. Ben Ronke, 27. Daniel Robinson, 28. Nic Newman, 29. George Hewett, 30. Tom McCartin, 31.Harrison Marsh, 32. James Bell, 38. Colin O’Riordan, 40. Nick Smith, 41. Jake Brown, 42. Robbie Fox, 44. Jake Lloyd, 45. Angus Styles

Western Bulldogs (12-man squad)

-2. Lewis Young, 19. Lukas Webb, 20. Ed Richards, 26. Billy Gowers, 27. Patrick Lipinski, 28. Callum Porter, 30. Fergus Greene, 33. Aaron Naughton, 37. Roarke Smith, 40. Nathan Mullenger-McHugh, 43. Jack Redpath (c), 44. Tim English

AFLX Richmond Western Bulldogs Sydney Swans Greater Western Sydney Brisbane Lions Gold Coast

More in AFL