Trending topics

Select your station

We'll remember your choice for next time

Wallace calls for return of Michael Tuck Medal


SEN football analyst Terry Wallace wants the Michael Tuck Medal to be awarded once again.

The honour, named after the Hawthorn champion who held the VFL/AFL games record until two seasons ago, was awarded to the player best-on-ground in the pre-season competition from 1992 until 2013.

Since 2014, the pre-season tournament hasn't featured a final.

Wallace, who played in the Hawks powerhouse era with Tuck, telling SEN’s KB and The Doc there's an opportunity to pair something old with something new.

“The Michael Tuck Medal is gone. Once upon a time we had a pre-season competition and the best player in the Grand Final would win the Michael Tuck Medal. Why wouldn’t over the AFLX tournament, over three nights, the best player win the Michael Tuck Medal?,’’ he said.

“If I was giving it out this weekend it would’ve been Jake Melksham who would’ve won the Michael Tuck Medal. It keeps that medal alive.”

Kevin Bartlett adding: “It’s disappeared because we have no longer have a pre-season Grand Final. Even during the JLT series or AFLX you combine it all together for the best player. A medal can’t just disappear can it?"

Past Michael Tuck Medal winners include Joel Selwood, Robert Harvey, Andrew McLeod, Wayne Carey and inaugural winner Paul Hudson.

Terry Wallace KB and the Doc AFLX Michael Tuck

More in AFL