Trending topics

Select your station

We'll remember your choice for next time

How Mitchell took home the Brownlow Medal


Hawthorn star Tom Mitchell capped off a superb season by winning the 2018 Brownlow Medal.

Mitchell finished on 28 votes, four clear of Collingwood’s Steele Sidebottom, with Melbourne’s Angus Brayshaw rounding out the top three on 21 votes.

The Hawks’ ball -magnet got off to a flying start at last night’s count, polling nine votes from his first three matches to race out to an early advantage.

Magpies midfielder Sidebottom stormed back into contention and took a surprise lead in Round 17.

Mitchell, however, finished strongly, recording nine votes between Rounds 18 and 21 to claim the AFL’s most prestigious individual honour.

The 25-year-old became the first Hawthorn player since Sam Mitchell in 2012 to win the Brownlow Medal.

Mitchell's 2018 Brownlow polling:

Round 1 v Collingwood - 3
Round 2 v Hawthorn - 3
Round 3 v Richmond - 3
Round 6 v St Kilda - 2
Round 11 v Port Adelaide - 3
Round 13 v Adelaide - 2
Round 14 v Gold Coast - 1
Round 15 v GWS - 2
Round 18 v Carlton - 3
Round 19 v Fremantle - 3
Round 20 v Essendon - 2
Round 21 v Geelong - 1
Total: 28

Prana Energy - giving back control to Australian businesses by reducing power bills and operating costs.

Tom MITCHELL Hawthorn Brownlow Medal

More in AFL