Trending topics

Select your station

We'll remember your choice for next time

Injury-prone quick named in T20 squad, star pace trio rested


Western Australian paceman Jason Behrendorff has been named in Australia’s T20 squad for the upcoming series against South Africa and India later this month.

Behrendorff, who last represented Australia over a year ago, will join Nathan Coulter-Nile, Billy Stanlake and Andrew Tye to make up the fast-bowling quartet for the four T20 matches.

The left-arm quick recently took 3-35 for the Prime Minister’s XI against the Proteas.

Star pace trio Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins have all been rested by coach Justin Langer.

Test hopefuls Mitchell Marsh and Peter Siddle have also been left out but will instead play Sheffield Shield cricket in the lead up to the first Test against the Indians, as will front-line spinner Nathan Lyon.

Australia take on South Africa in Game 1 of the series on November 17 at Metricon Stadium on the Gold Coast.

Australia T20 squad: Aaron Finch (c), Alex Carey, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, D'Arcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.


Gillette T20s v South Africa

November 17: Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

Gillette T20s v India

November 21: The Gabba

November 23: MCG

November 25: SCG

Jason Behrendorff

More in Cricket