Trending topics

Select your station

We'll remember your choice for next time

Australia name 15-man squad for World Cup


Steve Smith and David Warner are set to return to Australian cricket for the first time in over a year.

The pair were named in Australia’s 15-man World Cup squad announced this morning with the likes of Josh Hazlewood, Peter Handscomb and Ashton Turner missing out.

Aaron Finch will captain the side as Australia aims to defend its 2015 title.

The World Cup defence begins on June 1 against Afghanistan in Bristol.

Australia’s 15-man World Cup squad:

Aaron Finch (c)
David Warner
Usman Khawaja
Steve Smith
Shaun Marsh
Glenn Maxwell
Marcus Stoinis
Alex Carey
Pat Cummins
Mitchell Starc
Nathan Lyon
Adam Zampa
Jason Behrendorff
Nathan Coulter-Nile
Jhye Richardson

The squad will come together in Brisbane on May 2 where they'll play three practice matches against New Zealand before heading off to England.

More in Cricket