Trending topics

Select your station

We'll remember your choice for next time

Yeo denied treble as Shuey lands Eagles B&F


Luke Shuey has won the 2019 West Coast best and fairest award.

The midfielder landed his second John Worsfold Medal to deny Elliot Yeo the chance of winning three years in a row.

Shuey polled 258 votes to beat Yeo (239) with defender Brad Sheppard (234), wingman Andrew Gaff (231) and forward Jack Darling (199) making up the top five.

Shuey becomes just the seventh Eagle in history to win multiple John Worsfold Medals behind Ben Cousins and Glen Jakovich (both 4), Darren Glass (3), and joining Chris Judd, Guy McKenna and Yeo on two each.

Other award winners on the night included Oscar Allen (Emerging Talent), Fraser McInnes (Best Clubman) and Keegan Brooksby who won the WAFL best and fairest for the Eagles’ inaugural season in the state competition.

2019 John Worsfold Medal Top 10

  1. Luke Shuey (258 votes)
  2. Elliot Yeo (239)
  3. Brad Sheppard (234)
  4. Andrew Gaff (231)
  5. Jack Darling (199)
  6. Jeremy McGovern (198)
  7. Liam Ryan (190)
  8. Dom Sheed (182)
  9. Shannon Hurn (177)
  10. Jack Redden (164)

Luke SHUEY West Coast Eagles Elliot YEO

More in AFL