Trending topics

Select your station

We'll remember your choice for next time

Reigning AFLPA MVP Cripps snubbed by his own teammates


Reigning AFL Players’ Association MVP Patrick Cripps has not even been nominated for the award this year.

Every year, three players from each club are put up as nominees for the award. Players vote on who of their teammates should be eligible for the award.

Stunningly, Carlton’s playing group have put up Sam Walsh, Jacob Weitering and Jack Martin as their three players, leaving out Cripps.

The Blues skipper has had a down year by his lofty standards, but has still averaged 20 disposals, five tackles and five score involvements per game and is ranked second in the competition for clearances and fourth for contested possessions.

Evidently, the Carlton playing group favoured the work of second-year midfielder Walsh, star defender Weitering and damaging half-forward Martin.

The nominees for Adelaide and Brisbane have also been revealed, with Rory Laird, Reilly O’Brien and Brodie Smith chosen by the Crows, while Harris Andrews, Jarryd Lyons and Lachie Neale got the nod for the Lions.

The AFLPA will release the nominees for the remaining teams across the next few days, with Collingwood to GWS alphabetically coming later today.

More in AFL