Trending topics

Select your station

We'll remember your choice for next time

Lachie Neale crowned 2020 Brownlow Medal winner


Brisbane midfielder Lachie Neale has been crowned the 2020 Brownlow Medalist, winning the award by 10 votes.

In what was a runaway victory, Neale finished ahead of Port Adelaide's Travis Boak and Melbourne's Christian Petracca.

Due to COVID-19, there was no red carpet nor the lavish ceremony at Crown which is usually associated with one of the game’s most prestigious nights.

Rather, this year’s count was held virtually, with players scattered around the country taking part via video link.

Neale becomes Brisbane's first Brownlow Medal winner since Simon Black took out the award in 2002, while he’s the club fourth different winner.

The 27-year-old played every game for the Lions this year, averaging just under 27 touches and four marks.

Neale had 24 disposals, five marks, three tackles and two goals in Brisbane’s 40-point Preliminary Final loss to Geelong on Saturday night.

Izak Rankine earned a Brownlow vote on debut for Gold Coast in Round 6, while Matt Rowell notched up nine votes in four rounds before his season-ending shoulder injury.

In other awards given out on Sunday night, Sam Walsh won Mark of the Year, while Josh Daicos won Goal of the Year for his effort against Sydney in Round 10.

Richmond's Bachar Houli won the year's Jim Stynes Community Leadership Award.

See the top 10 in the Brownlow below:

  1. Lachie Neale (Brisbane) – 31 votes

  2. Travis Boak (Port Adelaide) – 21 votes

  3. Christian Petracca (Melbourne) – 20 votes

  4. Jack Steele (St Kilda) - 20 votes

  5. Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong) - 15 votes

  6. Dustin Martin (Richmond) - 15 votes

  7. Jack Macrae (Western Bulldogs) - 15 votes

  8. Luke Parker (Sydney) - 15 votes

  9. Cameron Guthrie (Geelong) 14 votes

  10. Clayton Oliver (Melbourne) 14 votes

More in AFL