Trending topics

Select your station

We'll remember your choice for next time

Historic result in GWS best and fairest


GWS’ best and fairest count finished in a tie for the first time in the club’s nine-year history.

Nick Haynes and Lachie Whitfield shared the Kevin Sheedy Medal with both players polling 98 votes.

It’s Haynes’ first club champion award while Whitfield becomes the first Giant to win two Kevin Sheedy Medals (2018 and 2020).

Harry Perryman finished two votes back in third with Jacob Hopper and Josh Kelly tying for fourth on 79 votes each.

GWS coach Leon Cameron was full of praise for Haynes and Whitfield.

“Nick has been a stalwart of our backline for years now and has always been incredibly highly valued internally with two top-five finishes before this year,” Cameron said.

“He’s once again taken his game to another level this year and thoroughly deserves the accolades that have come his way.

“Lachie becomes the first player in our history to win two Sheedy Medals after another ultra-consistent season.

“Taking on an official leadership role ahead of this season shows his development off the field and on the field, we saw Lachie continue to show his class and work-rate across the entire season.”

2020 Kevin Sheedy Medal Top 10:

=1 Lachie Whitfield (98 votes)

=1 Nick Haynes (98 votes)

3 Harry Perryman (96)

=4 Jacob Hopper (79)

=4 Josh Kelly (79)

6 Brent Daniels (69)

=7 Toby Greene (68)

=7 Matt de Boer (68)

9 Aidan Corr (66)

10 Stephen Coniglio (58)

GWS Giants

More in AFL