Trending topics

Select your station

We'll remember your choice for next time

Titans, Knights and Eels join NRLW for 2021


The NRLW will officially expand in 2021 with Newcastle, Parramatta and Gold Coast joining the competition.

The league will now have six teams, with the trio of new clubs joining the inaugural group of Brisbane, St George Illawarra and Sydney.

NRL CEO Andrew Abdo said he was excited to expand the fast-growing competition.

"Women's rugby league is the fastest-growing part of our sport and it's exciting to be in a position to expand the competition after the success of the last three seasons," Abdo said via a league statement.

"The NRLW competition has produced some of the best athletes in Australia, it's captivated a new fanbase and today's expansion will give more players the opportunity to play in an elite competition."

While the 2021 season sees three new sides, the New Zealand Warriors were unfortunately forced to drop out due to challenges the club faces with COVID-19.

Abdo hopes they’ll be able to re-join the league in 2022.

"The Warriors were part of the first four clubs to join the NRLW competition and we are grateful for the commitment they made right from the start, particularly during the pandemic last year," Abdo said.

"It's been an incredibly challenging period for the club during COVID and I'm confident we will see the Warriors return to the competition in 2022 as part of our expansion plans."

NRLW’s 2021 season is set to begin in August for five rounds and a finals series.

The league will run in line with the men’s competition from Round 23.

Gold Coast Titans Newcastle Knights Parramatta Eels

More in NRL