Trending topics

Select your station

We'll remember your choice for next time

Ollie Wines crowned 2021 Brownlow Medal winner


Port Adelaide midfielder Ollie Wines has been crowned the 2021 Brownlow Medallist, winning the award on 36 votes.

In what was a close count, Wines finished on the podium ahead of Western Bulldogs skipper Marcus Bontempelli (33 votes) and Melbourne midfielder Clayton Oliver (31 votes).

With teams spread across the country, players tuned in virtually and from separate events in Perth and Brisbane.

Wines, at the Perth event, was met with a roaring reception as he polled in the final round to wrap up the award.

The bullocking midfielder is the first Power player to win the competition’s highest individual honour, one year after teammate Travis Boak ran second in the 2020 count.

The 26-year-old played every game for the Power this year, averaging career-highs in disposals, marks and inside 50s.

His form carried through to the September, earning 33 and 38 disposals in Port Adelaide’s two finals clashes against Geelong and the Western Bulldogs respectively.

Having had down years by his standards in 2019 and 2020, Wines fully realised his potential in 2021 as one of the competition’s premier players.

In other awards given out on Sunday night, Shai Bolton won Mark of the Year, while Caleb Serong won Goal of the Year for his effort against West Coast in Round 22.

Wines’ teammate Boak won the Jim Stynes Community Leadership Award.

Check out the top 10 below.

1 – Ollie Wines (Port Adelaide) – 36 votes

2 – Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs) – 33 votes

3 – Clayton Oliver (Melbourne) – 31 votes

4 – Sam Walsh (Carlton) - 30 votes

5 – Darcy Parish (Essendon) - 26 votes

5 – Jack Steele (St Kilda) - 26 votes

7 – Tom Mitchell (Hawthorn) - 25 votes

7 – Travis Boak (Port Adelaide) - 25 votes

9 – Christian Petracca (Melbourne) - 23 votes

9 – Jarryd Lyons (Brisbane) - 23 votes

More in AFL