Trending topics

Select your station

We'll remember your choice for next time

Top 25 Australasian sporting teams in 2022 revealed


While the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific season has long been complete, the awards keep rolling in for the title-holder Crusaders.

After their sixth consecutive championship win, the Crusaders took out the title as the best sporting team in Australasia on Monday where they were presented their award by Australian-based Gain Line Analytics.

The win becomes their second in four years, with their stranglehold over their Super Rugby rivals proving enough to fend off some of Australia’s biggest sporting teams.

Scott Robertson’s side beat out AFL Premiership winners Geelong, A-League premiers Melbourne City and back-to-back NRL champions Penrith Panthers for the prize, earning themselves an AU$10,000 (NZ$10,594) grant.

The Crusaders donated their winnings to the Child Cancer Foundation NZ.

While the Cantabrians took out the top gong, the only other Kiwi side to make the top 25 was the Blues, who placed 23rd.

Since their 2018 win, the Crusaders have added another four titles to their name with one Super Rugby, two Super Rugby Aoteroa and a Super Rugby Pacific championship victory, the latest in their achievements.

The annual award is chosen based on rolling five-year periods where win percentage, competition size and stability are all taken into consideration.

21 competitions are in the running for the award throughout Australasia, with 10 women’s leagues and unisex esports all in the mix.

Top 25 Australasian sporting teams in 2022:

  1. Crusaders
  2. Melbourne City
  3. Geelong Cats
  4. Penrith Panthers
  5. Melbourne Demons (AFLW)
  6. Sydney FC (women)
  7. Sydney Sixers
  8. Melbourne Storm
  9. Adelaide Crows (AFLW)
  10. Melbourne United
  11. Melbourne Boomers
  12. Brisbane Lions (AFLW)
  13. UNSW Wests
  14. Chiefs Esports Club
  15. Waratahs (women)
  16. New South Wales Breakers
  17. Brisbane Heat
  18. Sydney FC
  19. Brisbane Lions
  20. CBR Brave
  21. West Coast Fever
  22. South Sydney Rabbitohs
  23. Blues
  24. Perth Wildcats
  25. Brisbane Broncos

More in Super Rugby