Trending topics

Select your station

We'll remember your choice for next time

Every AFL player currently out of contract at the end of 2027 as we look ahead to Tasmania


The Tasmanian AFL team will enter the competition in 2028.

Naturally, our eyes turn to the players who come out of contract at the end of 2027, who could therefore become marquee or veteran players to carry what will likely be a team of draftees and returning Taswegians.

Here’s a list of every current AFL player who is signed until the end of 2027, including stars like Jordan De Goey, Patrick Cripps, Touk Miller and Zach Merrett.

Could a prime Tom Green be the face of Tassie? What about Caleb Serong or Will Day?

Here are the current AFL players who come out of contract and their age in late 2027:

Patrick Cripps (Carlton) - 32
Dan McStay (Collingwood) - 32
Jordan De Goey (Collingwood) - 31
Peter Wright (Essendon) - 31
Zach Merrett (Essendon) - 32
Heath Chapman (Fremantle) - 25
Caleb Serong (Fremantle) - 26
Hayden Young (Fremantle) - 26
Luke Ryan (Fremantle) - 31
Noah Anderson (Gold Coast) - 26
Touk Miller (Gold Coast) - 31
Lachie Whitfield (GWS) - 33
Tom Green (GWS) - 26
James Sicily (Hawthorn) - 32
Will Day (Hawthorn) - 26
Brodie Grundy (Melbourne) - 33
Kysaiah Pickett (Melbourne) - 26
Trent Rivers (Melbourne) - 26
Griffin Logue (North Melbourne) - 29
Dan Houston (Port Adelaide) - 30
Daniel Rioli (Richmond) - 30
Jayden Short (Richmond) - 31
Jack Steele (St Kilda) - 32
Rowan Marshall (St Kilda) - 32
Tom McCartin (Sydney) - 28
Bailey Dale (Western Bulldogs) - 31
Jack Macrae (Western Bulldogs) - 33

And here’s a list of every current Tasmanian AFL player: Chayce Jones (Adelaide), Lachie Cowan (Carlton), Jeremy Howe (Collingwood), Brody Mihocek (Collingwood), Jye Menzie (Essendon), Andrew Phillips (Essendon), Alex Pearce (Fremantle), Jake Kolodjashnij (Geelong), Lachie Weller (Gold Coast), Ben Brown (Melbourne), Aaron Hall (North Melbourne), Tarryn Thomas (North Melbourne), Hugh Greenwood (North Melbourne), Tom McCallum (Port Adelaide), Samuel Banks (Richmond), Toby Nankervis (Richmond), Jack Riewoldt (Richmond), Rhyan Mansell (Richmond), Seth Campbell (Richmond), Jimmy Webster (St Kilda), Robbie Fox (Sydney), Cameron Owen (Sydney), Ryan Gardner (Western Bulldogs), Liam Jones (Western Bulldogs)

More in AFL