Trending topics

Select your station

We'll remember your choice for next time

Controversial All-Aus squad selection calls revealed


The release of the 44-man All-Australian squad is set to dominate discussion until the final team is released in 48 hours following several controversial omissions.

None of Tim Taranto, Josh Dunkley, Max Gawn, Gryan Miers, Nic Martin, Nic Newman and Sam Taylor made the cut, while there are some inclusions that will also generate plenty of debate.

Taranto’s omission especially is set to fire up Tigers fans, while Dunkley has been the most consistent midfielder in a top two team.

Miers also broke the all-time record for goal assists in a season.

Luke Hodge and Andy Maher were two who suggested Taranto should have been given a run.

“The Tim Taranto one… halfway through the year I think (All-Australian selector Kane Cornes) said he wanted to see him kick more goals… he averaged almost one a game, had 140 odd clearances, averaged 29 touches a game, I thought it was a pretty consistent year,” Hodge said on SEN's Sportsday.

“He did so much well in a team that did struggle.”

Maher, speaking on SEN’s The Run Home, added: “Tim Taranto is going to be the hot potato here.

“If I had to take one out to put one in… I’m taking Stephen Coniglio out to put Taranto in.”

Coniglio, Patrick Cripps, Noah Anderson and Jai Newcombe were all selected above the first-year Richmond midfielder.

Taranto has averaged 28.8 disposals, 6.2 clearances, 6.7 tackles and 3.5 inside 50s to quickly become Richmond’s most important midfielder, as Dustin Martin spends more time in the forward line.

There’s also controversy in the ruck, with Tim English, Luke Jackson and Rowan Marshall preferred over Melbourne captain Max Gawn.

Gawn played 20 games and led the Demons to yet another top four finish, shouldering the solo load in the latter stages of the season.

Speaking on SEN WA’s The Run Home, Fremantle great Paul Hasleby expressed his surprise at Jackson’s selection.

“I didn’t think I’d be talking about him in the All-Australian 40…” he admitted.

The breakdown of players in the squad are as follows: Adelaide Crows (two), Brisbane Lions (four), Carlton (three), Collingwood (five), Essendon (three), Fremantle (three), Geelong Cats (one), Gold Coast Suns (one), GWS Giants (three), Hawthorn (three), Melbourne (two), North Melbourne (one), Port Adelaide (three), Richmond (one), St Kilda (three), Sydney Swans (two), West Coast Eagles (one) and Western Bulldogs (three).

The team of 22 will be revealed on Wednesday night.


More in AFL